My Everyday Routine as a Developer β˜•βŒ¨πŸ–±

My Everyday Routine as a Developer β˜•βŒ¨πŸ–±

Β·

5 min read

Hello world! (no pun intended).

It is currently 1:06 am on a Thursday night and voìla! Here I am writing my first blog post.

When starting this blog, I initially thought that my first post would be a technical blog post. However, after tossing and turning in bed at this hour I felt the sudden urge to share my every day routine with you all as recent circumstances call for some motivational content.

My Daily Routine:

  1. Something physical πŸ’ͺ🏼
  2. Something mentally stimulating βŒ¨πŸ–±
  3. Something social πŸ™‹πŸ»β€β™€οΈπŸ‘­πŸ“±
  4. Something creative πŸ’ƒπŸŽΆπŸŽΉ

That is it. That is my daily routine. Simple right? It is these four things that allow me to not only enjoy a healthy and fulfilling lifestyle, but also allows me to be a more clear headed, organized, and focused developer!

I keep a pretty consistent schedule and try to minimize the activities I do. If you need inspiration, here are some ways I check all these categories off my list:

  1. Something active: Going for a walk, weight training, yoga, house cleaning

  2. Something stimulating: This is one that I don't have much trouble with, given that I am still working in-office (yes, the company I work for is an essential service provider). Additionally, us coders are always eagerly trying to learn something new 😜 or trying to improve on our current technologies πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ’» ⌨️ πŸ–±οΈ. However, a productive task may be much more difficult for some. If this speaks to you, start with something simple like organizing the folders on your computer, or de-cluttering your closet!

  3. Something social: This one I probably could do better at. I enjoy my solitude and I am pretty content with working independently (I know some of you out there can relate!). However, I start to notice a shift in my mood when I go more than a day or two without having a light-hearted chat with my friends or family. Suggestions: enjoy dinner with your household members, call a friend, or even share a meme with someone close to you! Staying in touch with your friends/family will boost your mood and keep you inspired on your journey as a developer.

  4. Something creative: This one could be anything your heart desires! Personally, my creative outlet is dancing πŸ’ƒ (primarily salsa and other latin dances). While I am not able to attend socials or congresses or even in-studio classes (due to the provincial protocols), I still try to harness this skill and enjoy this hobby from my living room. Ps: I have read recently that on average people stick to hobbies for only 16 months! Read Article Here. So if you have committed to a hobby longer than 16 months, my kudos to you! Other things I may do occasionally include: trying new recipes, changing up the decor in my apartment, playing with make-up, building lego. I always love to hear the different things people love doing.

All in all, ensuring that I get a daily dose of these four activity types helps me to stay alert, balanced and focused in my journey as a developer. So to whoever is reading this, I hope this post helps you find inspiration or gives you ideas to making your time at home much more enjoyable and productive!

Happy coding!